Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by sambhavs on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:54PM
(#17445670)
A link to an FAQ explaining how internal data is wiped would probably be better than linking to the actual page to delete your Facebook. Right now, it's like being taken to the edge of a cliff to be told that there's a landing trampoline on the other side.
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by evil-olive on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:50PM
(#17445620)
I already deleted my Facebook account a month or so ago. I'd like to read the post to see if it's retroactive...but I can't read it without logging in to Facebook.
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by minitoar on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:52PM
(#17445646)
This is not a link to an article. This is a link to the page which contains the button to delete your account. Here's the text from that page:
If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added.
If you would still like your account deleted, click "Delete My Account".
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by arthurofbabylon on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:52PM
(#17445659)
Hypothesis: Facebook is seeing a huge increase in temporary account deactivations (my friends call it a Facebook fast...), and this is intended to mitigate that by making the act of account deactivation more intimidating.
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by daok on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:50PM
(#17445624)
It is a security reason. Imagine you have your computer not lock and someone goes on that page. At least, the person won't have his/her account deleted. It's all fine because it's not an operation that is done repeatedly.
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by 394549 on Monday July 02, 2018 @05:56PM
(#17445688)
> I don't get the delete facebook movement. You can still use facebook without giving them all your data. Just.. don't give them your data!
That's not true, they get all kinds of data from other sources, including stuff from your friends that they may not have even realized they shared (such as your phone number when FB slurped their phone's contacts list).
Re:Deleting Your Facebook Account Now Wipes Out All Your Int...
by chrischen on Monday July 02, 2018 @06:12PM
(#17445815)
Yes but the sign in stuff is within your control too. Simply logout or delete the cookies, and don't use sign in with facebook. Simply having a facebook account (even under a pseudonym), doesn't mean you have to start using login with facebook. I try to use Facebook in the most minimal way possible—I have an account and can message people, but I don't use it for anything that I don't need it for. I try to ensure I get more out of it than it does from me. I don't voluntarily fill out my profile with more information than necessary.
Sigh. Will Facebook ever learn?
Given it’s 4 minutes old color me skeptical
If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added.
If you would still like your account deleted, click "Delete My Account".
It'd be pretty interesting if it is though.
The help link goes to https://www.facebook.com/help/224562897555674
Does anyone have a handle on the intention or anticipated benefits behind this move?
I'm skeptical that account is controlled by Mark Zuckerberg and will remain skeptical until I see a good verification proof.
Seems more like a PR move than anything to me.
There are leaks, the contacts.html file shows some evidence of the kind of record-linkage they must do to build shadow profiles.
>You must log in to continue.
Seriously?
That's not true, they get all kinds of data from other sources, including stuff from your friends that they may not have even realized they shared (such as your phone number when FB slurped their phone's contacts list).