Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by porkbird on Monday March 14, 2011 @06:38AM
(#2321958)
I actually wonder what would happen to a google account without a public profile linked to a gmail address. IIRC deleting such account is impossible without deleting a corresponding gmail account. Loosing all your emails one day just because you are not into google buzz and other fancy social stuff would be horrible.
[ Parent
| on HN ]
Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by decadentcactus on Monday March 14, 2011 @07:05AM
(#2322013)
I'm wondering too. On https://www.google.com/accounts/ManageAccount , it says:
> You don't yet have a public profile. Learn more Create a profile or edit your personal info without creating a public profile.
I have no idea if I'm meant to create a public profile to save my email, or if I already have a private profile, or if I have no profile at all and this doesn't affect me. Hoping the last one.
Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by ern on Monday March 14, 2011 @07:39AM
(#2322091)
As far as I can tell, deleting a profile has nothing to do with Gmail, or the rest of your Google account, besides Buzz. I deleted my profile, and still have access to the rest of my Google stuff, including Gmail.
Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by ashcairo on Monday March 14, 2011 @07:36AM
(#2322084)
You should be ok.
It says that 'Deleting your profile won't delete your Google Account.' here: http://www.google.com/support/accounts/bin/answer.py?answer=...
Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by porkbird on Monday March 14, 2011 @07:57AM
(#2322122)
As far as I can tell this statement is about a public profile. The private profile is essentially a google account, and I don't know a way to delete a google account and keep a gmail address associated with it.
Re:All private Google Profiles will be deleted after July 31...
by bpd1069 on Monday March 14, 2011 @08:24AM
(#2322185)
No, the private profile is essentially a public profile. If you delete a public/private profile, all access to buzz is gone, and all past 'buzzes' will not be accessible (effectively deleted).