https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/40705-but-the-plans-were-on...
"Delete my account" (dark blue), "Cancel" (light blue). "OK" (light blue; i.e. yes delete my account), "Cancel" (dark blue)
That were correct.
(Account now deleted.)
People who work there are con artists.
I'm surprised nobody has written a (thirdparty) browser plugin for that task yet.
This seems to reset your contacts and history. No idea what it looks like on the back end, assuming facebook is still rolling history associated with the number.
There used to also be a pathway to promote your messenger account to a full facebook account and then delete it that way, but it's been a while so not sure if that's still possible.
Not sure if you can pull of similar against email based accounts though.
Sounds like its worth waiting a month or two for when they fully implemented GPDR. That probably makes this way easier. (At least for EU residents)
Kudos to your hard work and perseverance though!
I'd like to not delete my Facebook account because my Spotify account is linked to it.
https://www.reddit.com/r/spotify/search?q=facebook&restrict_...
Problem is, I use Premium via a voucher from my ISP. My ISP no longer gives these vouchers, and its claimed. So for a new account, I cannot get Premium for "free".
I should feel lucky my ISP hasn't disabled the existing vouchers (the main branch of the ISP did).
Fun facts:
* They switch around button colors to trick you into undoing your actions
* They are very eager to log you back in if you, for example, try to access help. This reactivates your account.
* You cannot delete your account on Messenger. They removed the option. Deleting your Facebook profile does not delete your messenger account
* Their doc for deleting your messenger account lies/is out of date.
* There is no shortage of dark patterns in their account delete process.
I ended up manually deleting all my content, unliking everything, and deleting all my posts.
More fun facts: they don't show you all of your content. If you go back and try to clean up your account, do it multiple times. Keep doing it until Facebook can't find anything more to show you. I assume this is a technical optimization, but it means that there is no reliable to see everything you've posted (from the web UI).