The login form, unsurprisingly, looked very similar to the one suggesting that you give LinkedIn your email address plus you email account password. When I first noticed this, I thought that, for people who re-use passwords, this was an accident waiting to happen. I'm sure people must have been caught out by this.
I was very tempted to submit this to darkpatterns.org, but the first part of the pattern (frequent re-authentication) doesn't happen any more.
However, mobile apps have a much easier time of it. Looking at the contacts stored on one's phone is just one of the many permissions they request, and users are conditioned to just click past that screen anyway.
Did I? Can I undo it? No idea. Linkedin is quiet about it, and it looks like it can't be undone.
So I wonder if there's a measurable difference in the Linkedin graphs of iOS and Android users as a result of this? I guess only Linkedin knows...
http://www.theverge.com/2012/2/8/2785217/path-ios-address-bo...
- If you gave your email password to Linkedin or Facebook, did you change your email password immediately afterward?
- Are you very confident that Linkedin and Facebook wouldn't retain your password for future use or do some other mischief?
- Would you do the same thing again today?
An email client has a good use for it. A chat app may too. In the general case, no. It's definitely something to be very wary of.
I wasn't quite so security-conscious a few years ago.
This probably indicates a dark pattern at work ( http://darkpatterns.org/ ) - it was presented as a quick, default and normal action and/or of little consequence, when actually it's quite invasive.
You said that Linkedin would "scan your contacts to see if those people are on LinkedIn" and this is likely what it is presented as, but actually that information might be retained indefinitely and may be used for other purposes that are thought up later. But hey, it's just metadata, right?
(Granted, Google has to be pretty careful about how they act towards rival social networks)
It also has a separate username/password box for giving it access to your email address. I have never used this feature. However when I visit the site it fills in the second box with the same username and password.
If I used the same password for linkedin and my email account, saved my linkedin password, then all I would need to do is accidentally click the wrong button to send them my email credentials.
OAuth stands for Open Authorisation, not Open Authentication. While OAuth2 is often used for authenticating against other services, it is designed about authorisation, the ability to give other sites the ability to see info from your email account. Usually permissions are set at a modular level, so you could give sites to see who your contacts are, or your contacts and full name, etc.
Hand my contacts list to a website? No thank you. When is letting a website have this a good idea, not just Linkedin, but ever?