News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by jessriedel on Saturday August 04, 2012 @05:56PM (#4339821)
Seems like there would be a better way to save the user from their occasional accidental "Cmd S" than by upending a core expectation of computer behavior since time immemorial. Why not allow the "revert" option when you hit "Cmd S"? Seems like you could keep all the same core functionality and just have a right-click accessible history of every file on disk. Is there an advantage the new system has over that?
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by kalleboo on Saturday August 04, 2012 @06:04PM (#4339841)
The new system does what you suggest. Command-S creates a new "revision" in versions, and you can select "Revert to > Browse all versions" to see all versions of your document. OS X also automatically creates a new version once an hour if there are new changes.
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by leberwurstsaft on Sunday August 05, 2012 @07:36AM (#4341201)
The algorithm is actually a lot quicker to act. Once an hour would be quite useless in many cases (especially power loss).
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by glhaynes on Sunday August 05, 2012 @07:54PM (#4343087)
The saving algorithm happens near-instantly, yes - but what's being referred to is the "versions" that are user-visible. Each time you hit Save, Close, or leave an edited document open for an hour, a "version" made that can be reverted to/seen in Time Machine.