You actually have to go and register an account or log in for sync to happen at all
Otherwise it’s offline, by default, right after install
I think you might be mixing them up?
Opt-in means that the user needs to actively decide to use the feature, it's OFF by default. That's currently the case for atuin (happy user without sync here).
Opt-out would mean the feature would be ON by default and users would need to actively decide NOT to use it.
Re:Atuin – Magical Shell History
by fluidcruft on Tuesday June 24, 2025 @07:12AM
(#44364879)
Isn't it off by default? That's what opt-in means as far as I know.
if you have someone outright cloning your entire project just to skip this opted-in privacy gap feature, it's a good indicator it's an issue to be mindful of!