News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by X-Istence on Saturday August 04, 2012 @07:26PM (#4340028)
It's dangerous. What if you had pressed Cmd + S before you did Save As (my hands have a reflex, I press Cmd + S so often it annoyed me that NetBeans will actually disable the shortcut and give me the warning bell instead because the file hasn't been changed). Now the original is gone. You really should duplicate the file and then make modifications.

Also, with the new Versions stuff in Lion/Mountain Lion you don't have any extra data leakage. The latest file on disk (depends on the app I guess, but most naive apps that use Versions) will be just that, the latest, unlike Word where retrieving old versions/text is relatively simple and can cause an hotbed of issues...

Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by zmmmmm on Saturday August 04, 2012 @09:43PM (#4340290)
> It's dangerous. What if you had pressed Cmd + S before you did Save As

Then I press Cmd-Z a few times and save again. It's really not so bad. And in this supposed glorious brave new world of auto-versioning, the old version is still available right? So even if I totally forgot it still wasn't "dangerous", at least any more than the new behavior is so.

Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by X-Istence on Saturday August 04, 2012 @09:57PM (#4340319)
So ... after Duplicate hit Cmd + Z a couple of times and fix the issue. You just solved the problem yourself.
Re:OS X Mountain Lion: Data Loss via 'Save As' by rogerchucker on Saturday August 04, 2012 @10:54PM (#4340438)
As the sibling reply said, in that case I'd go with Cmd+Z. What you just described is a benefit of the versions feature and NOT that of removing "Save As". And I do not need the OS to do the versioning. "Save As" has never ever been dangerous. What you described as danger is the carelessness of saving the edits in the opened file and that has nothing to do with Save As.