Re:The Merge
by ChadNauseam on Sunday August 21, 2022 @01:30AM
(#32537650)
Finalized blocks can never be undone, it’s forbidden by the protocol. Once your client sees that a block is finalized, it will never revert it.
(This makes the network a bit subjective, so hopefully it’ll come up rarely)
The non-responsive stakers would gradually lose their stake. The penalty for going offline is normally small, but if most validators go offline at once it's considerably larger. Their stake will shrink, until they don't hold most of the stake anymore and the network can start finalizing again.