> Even better, flipping "public/private" has absolutely no need to delete any information at all.
Of course it does. You can’t watch/star a private repo unless you have access, so all watchers/starrers should be removed. If you kept the data as-is watchers would still see the repo updates in their feed, which is the opposite of the 'private' feature promise.
There could be separate buttons, "Delete all my stars", "Delete all my watches".