No it isn’t. It’s a mechanism for scanning pictures as they are uploaded to iCloud Photo Library.
Private pictures on the device are not scanned.
Also, what apps are you talking about?
As for apps - WhatsApp, for example, saves everything to Camera Roll by default. Which then gets auto-uploaded to iCloud.
iCloud backups are not scanned. Only photos uploaded to iCloud Photo Library.
> As for apps - WhatsApp, for example, saves everything to Camera Roll by default. Which then gets auto-uploaded to iCloud.
This is not true at all. The user is asked for explicit permission before apps can save photos to the camera roll, and the user must choose to use iCloud Photo Library.
>Many people did trust Apple to keep their files private until now.
And that was my original point. If a pinky promise from Apple is not enough to trust them, then Apple should have never been trusted.
You can choose to upload many pictures. They will start uploading. Then, you change your mind. Some pictures were not uploaded yet. But they were scanned by the new algorithm.
This is the key point.
1. What if I change my mind and decide not to upload the picture?
2. This is a new mechanism for scanning private pictures on the device. What could go wrong?
> If we can't trust Apple to follow their promise, their products should already have been considered compromised before this change was announced.
Many people did trust Apple to keep their files private until now.