Are you a programmer? The idea that there is a finish line for optimizing a program (beyond "This seems fast enough") is weird, and not the sort of thing I'd expect to hear from anyone who's ever done it. You do just have to stop at some point and release. Otherwise you'll keep improving things until the heat death of the universe.
IIRC, the Chrome team has a zero-tolerance policy on performance regressions. Since it auto-updates, it should get faster over time.
At any rate, unless the software has been around for many decades and the best minds in computer science have failed to improve upon it, you can generally feel confident that there are tons of things you can still optimize.
Google can delete my Facebook account? My Office Web Apps account? How do they manage this?
> Every OS ever has had this feature. It's called "Users"
No other OS saves OS settings and apps in the cloud, to my knowledge.
> What does this mean? That you designed it to be inefficient so you can speed it up and gather favor from your users? That you just stopped optimizing halfway through and pegged it 1.0?
They are talking about the auto-update feature.
If Google deletes your Google/GMail account, can you still login to your Chromebook?
You don't use your Facebook account to log into a Chromebook.
Every modern operating system that I'm aware of gains performance increases through software updates. That does not mean that every company that creates operating systems purposely makes their operating system slower to gain favor over time.
> Every OS ever has had this feature. It's called "Users"
Uh, not iphones/pads (iOS)... so yes that is a big deal
Customers think in benefits
"men are from mars women are from venus" "apples and oranges"
Can we stop saying this please?
> "Your apps, documents, and settings are stored safely in the cloud."
Until Google deletes your account for no specific reason and refuses to give it back (this has happened to more than one person)
> Millions of apps.
[citation needed]
> Friends let friends login.
Every OS ever has had this feature. It's called "Users"
>Gets faster over time.
What does this mean? That you designed it to be inefficient so you can speed it up and gather favor from your users? That you just stopped optimizing halfway through and pegged it 1.0?