I think this is actually a good feature, one of the few introductions which I think if worthwhile, even if the implementation is a bit lacking.
You have to balance the user being able to see the message with not annoying them, and it's not difficult to achieve.
Configuration bloat is a real problem in most applications which allow third-party extensions, and I've seen some stunning examples of extensions bloat on some people's computers, Chrome users included. On the other hand, when I question it, they tell me, "I use all those!"
This article I came across here on HN really enlightened me: https://www.asktog.com/columns/000maxscrns.html
Having a button somewhere where the user can go and reset those things is ok. But keeping pestering them until they click on the button is really not.
It sounds like something which started out as a good idea and was then steered into user abuse territory.
My bet is that they were receiving complaints of Firefox breaking due to bad migration of settings between versions, so instead of fixing the migrations, they decided that this user-hostile anti-feature was good enough.