Re:Netgear Firmware Requires Online Registration
by bbx on Sunday September 20, 2020 @03:18AM
(#24532451)
I noticed that too. A few weeks ago, clicking on a Zoom link in your browser would trigger an automatic download of the app installer (which I don’t want). The webpage would still display an “or launch in the browser” link. But yesterday I noticed the link was gone, thinking the only option was to install the app (which I still don’t want). But it turns out the browser link appears after a 5-second delay.
I wonder how many people installed the app thinking it was the only option now. I assume a lot of people. Or how to increase your install numbers with that one weird trick.
Very sneaky.
Re:Netgear Firmware Requires Online Registration
by redprince on Sunday September 20, 2020 @11:22AM
(#24534519)
I have found the Windows 10 Sandbox feature quite useful to deal with the random teleconferencing software. It fires up an empty Windows 10 HyperV VM in a few seconds, audio is passed through both ways. After the session is finished, close the VM and everything is gone.
Re:Netgear Firmware Requires Online Registration
by dunham on Sunday September 20, 2020 @09:12AM
(#24533812)
I didn’t know there was a web mode. I’ve been using my iPad for zoom, because it’s the only way I could think of to sandbox it.
Re:Netgear Firmware Requires Online Registration
by colordrops on Sunday September 20, 2020 @01:19AM
(#24532052)
If you mean dark as in Darth Vader choke grip dark, and not dark as in subtle under the radar manipulation dark pattern, then yes.
Re:Netgear Firmware Requires Online Registration
by Silhouette on Sunday September 20, 2020 @06:31AM
(#24533138)
I realise HN isn't known for its sense of humour, but if this trend doesn't justify an analogy about being in a cloud city, setting a trap, someone altering a deal, and praying it isn't altered any further, I don't know what does.
I get this with videoconferencing too (webex, teams), where the app starts downloading and the ability to do what you want (use the browser) is hidden or delayed until you've failed.