News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Lightroom app update wipes users' photos and presets, Ado... by IAmGraydon on Friday August 21, 2020 @06:51AM (#24233773)
So you signed up for an “annual subscription billed monthly” (which is discounted from the monthly subscription), didn’t actually read what you were buying, and this is somehow Adobe’s fault? This is not hidden from buyers. It is quite clearly stated when you choose your plan. You committed to something and didn’t follow through, so you are in the wrong.
Re:Lightroom app update wipes users' photos and presets, Ado... by wokwokwok on Friday August 21, 2020 @06:53AM (#24233784)
Oh come; they obviously go out of their way to make sure this as unobvious as possible, for obvious reasons.

I had exactly the same experience; adobe can burn in a fire after that and the iPad photoshop disaster as far as I’m concerned.

Re:Lightroom app update wipes users' photos and presets, Ado... by IAmGraydon on Friday August 21, 2020 @09:51PM (#24240906)
Have you actually looked at Adobe's site? You literally have to select "annual subscription billed monthly" to sign up. It's extremely obvious.
Re:Lightroom app update wipes users' photos and presets, Ado... by wokwokwok on Friday August 21, 2020 @11:31PM (#24241288)
> You literally have to select "annual subscription billed monthly" to sign up

No, that's automatically selected for you. :) Try using the website yourself.

The billing page clearly says "Subtotal $XX/mo"; the only place it says 'annual plan' is in the top box, which says 'Annual plan, paid monthly'; and when you select, eg. the standard photoshop plan, and click 'Buy now'; it takes you to a page where there isn't even a monthly option, despite the main page saying "US$9.99/mo".

As no time do you 'opt in' to an annual plan, except by clicking on the button that says 'US$9.99/mo'.

It would be 'obvious' if it said: You minimum commitment over 24-months is $$$.

It does not.

I don't know what you get from stubbornly refusing to acknowledge this is a dark pattern; clearly other people find this surprising too, and... well, I don't know what to say. Sometimes you have to acknowledge that you're wrong.

This is bad behaviour on the part of adobe; it's not really a he said/she said/my opinion is kind of thing; in many places, having the minimum total commitment displayed on the billing page is a legal requirement. In others, a no-penalty cancel-subscription is a legal requirement.

Adobe just flat out does neither unless you fight with them and threaten legal action.

I honestly don't know how they get away with it.

Re:Lightroom app update wipes users' photos and presets, Ado... by bkor on Friday August 21, 2020 @08:11AM (#24234200)
As mentioned elsewhere: the initial subscription was for 12 months. Extending that in NL is only allowed on a monthly basis, or a new contract. This exactly because too many companies made it purposely difficult to leave.

It's fairly logical: the customer agreed on 12 months. An additional fixed term requires a new contract/agreement. In practice companies now try to keep customers. Plus need to actually be ok instead of relying on people not overcoming the fake effort that is required to leave.