News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Yelp Is Replacing Restaurants’ Phone Numbers So Grubhub C... by ortusdux on Tuesday August 06, 2019 @11:21AM (#20625919)
The 7 years that google owned zagat correlated with a massive improvement in the quality of their reviews.

I have done the google maps local guide program a bit and the way it is structured is great. The google map slowly switches into proactive mode and solicits photos, ratings, and reviews.

A few months ago a friend asked me what I was up to, so I sent them a photo of 2 flights of beer in an attempt to get them to meet me at the bar. later, Maps asked if I liked the bar and wanted to upload the photo. For the last 2 months that photo has been the official picture of the bar and received over 250k views. Minimal input or interruption for me, large return for google.

Re:Yelp Is Replacing Restaurants’ Phone Numbers So Grubhub C... by ativzzz on Tuesday August 06, 2019 @08:15PM (#20630927)
> The google map slowly switches into proactive mode and solicits photos, ratings, and reviews.

Funny, I hate when google asks me this. It feels like an invasion of my privacy, a reminder that they are tracking everything I do.

Re:Yelp Is Replacing Restaurants’ Phone Numbers So Grubhub C... by bagacrap on Tuesday August 06, 2019 @08:31PM (#20631009)
It only does this if you have location services turned on. You actually told Google it was ok to use your location to provide location specific services. That's not what I would call "tracking", which implies something clandestine.
Re:Yelp Is Replacing Restaurants’ Phone Numbers So Grubhub C... by daveFNbuck on Wednesday August 07, 2019 @01:01AM (#20632096)
Google requires this permission to do anything remotely location-based and uses it extremely liberally. I shouldn't have to agree to have them link my photos to the restaurant I'm in just so I can save a home location for driving directions.
Re:Yelp Is Replacing Restaurants’ Phone Numbers So Grubhub C... by waldoh on Wednesday August 07, 2019 @02:25AM (#20632382)
It doesnt post anything without your permission. And you can long hold the notification to suppress and never see them again. It's not that big of a deal