News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Gimp 2.10.12 by makomk on Thursday June 13, 2019 @08:59AM (#20174347)
The developers "fixed" this by making it incredibly hard for people using Gimp for simple, quick image editing tasks to tell if they've saved their work at all. The dialog warning you that you're closing an image you've forgotten to save anywhere since the last change is almost identical to the one warning you that your only copy is in a non-native format. It does this even if you lost absolutely nothing by saving back to the original format, which is often the case.
Re:Gimp 2.10.12 by pessimizer on Thursday June 13, 2019 @10:38AM (#20175296)
The alternative is to remember the format the image was loaded from, track all of the features of each individual format, note when the user changes something that can't be saved in the original format, then before the user "saves" in yet another format decide when to pop up a dialog that describes how these featuresets overlap and alternate ways to "save" that might preserve more or fewer of them.

All of this to avoid saying: "You're converting your working copy into a lossy format. You might lose things."