Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by lallysingh on Friday May 11, 2018 @01:50PM
(#17049391)
Have you considered not using fb anymore? Try the delete account feature - they give you a few weeks before it's actually deleted. I found that I didn't actually miss it.
[ Parent
| on HN ]
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by joshvm on Friday May 11, 2018 @01:53PM
(#17049429)
It gets quite fun if you don't use it. Facebook starts sending really needy notifications like "X just commented on a picture" or "Y just liked this" to try and make you login. I think there's an apocryphal metric (which is probably true) that users must always have one unread notification when they login. There's no way of turning these messages off short of unfollowing every one of your friends individually.
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by InitialLastName on Friday May 11, 2018 @03:06PM
(#17050008)
Yeah if I haven't logged in in a bit but there aren't any "real" notifications, it gives me a notification like "Do you know N", where N is invariably a person I've never met, with whom I have no mutual friends or common groups.
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by ryandrake on Friday May 11, 2018 @02:08PM
(#17049543)
Interesting. My FB account is dormant but not deleted. I have not used it in over 5 years, and I don’t recall seeing emails like this.
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by ggg9990 on Friday May 11, 2018 @03:08PM
(#17050025)
They probably give up at some point, and may have built the feature less than 5 years ago.
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by joshvm on Friday May 11, 2018 @08:41PM
(#17051764)
I only get this on mobile (having the app installed), email is thankfully unaffected. But presumably if you logged in, you'd find a bunch of notifications that were largely irrelevant to you.
Re:YouTube rolls out new tools to help you stop watching
by blanderman on Friday May 11, 2018 @03:44PM
(#17050313)
I have noticed that if you have the app open but have no activity for a short while they pop up a notification, often for something relatively obscure like a new comment in a group that you're a member of, I guess to try and regain your interest. I definitely fell for it the first few times.