I've just been looking through the app, it doesn't really describe that well what the "points" system even earns you, for your contributions.
The help page has this vague statement saying "Those points lead to higher levels of the program, as well as benefits like early access to Google features and special perks from partners"
Obviously covering their backs because "special perks from partners" could mean anything
> So I deleted all my photos and stopped taking new ones.
When you're "deleting" things from services like Google Drive, it's better to think of what you're doing as "hiding things from yourself". It's unlikely that Google actually deleted that data in a way that prevents them from accessing it.
Never work for free.