News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by Quenz on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @10:02AM (#14506503)
Why would Uber be unhappy?
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by 659087 on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @10:08AM (#14506533)
A few months ago they changed their app so that iOS users no longer had the "only while using" option for location access, and announced plans to stalk users even after their rides had ended.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by djrogers on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @10:09AM (#14506542)
Recently Uber updated their app to track and report users' locations even when the app was not being used.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by technofiend on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @11:46AM (#14507340)
This is why IOS needs profiles. It's that or you just uninstall the app after each use, which is a pain.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by allendoerfer on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @12:08PM (#14507513)
We could try to build a network to deliver applications, which would stop when you close them. We only need a system to map names to ips and some standards for protocols. We could even run them in a sandbox for security. Would be awesome.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by jackskell on Thursday June 08, 2017 @07:00PM (#14517845)
I'd like to specify whether an app runs over my VPN on an app-by-app basis.

Maps and Pandora, no, browser and email, yes.

Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by steffan on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @03:04PM (#14509000)
It's not necessary to uninstall the app after each use to prevent tracking - in Settings...Privacy...Location Services, you can disable location on a per-app basis.

(this is admittedly a pain, and Apple enforcing in-use-only option availability is a welcome change)

Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by technofiend on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @03:19PM (#14509108)
Usually these snoopy apps refuse to run unless you enable it first. So you still have to remember to turn it back off when you're done.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by eridius on Wednesday June 07, 2017 @06:26PM (#14510347)
That's what the "Only While Using" option is all about. In iOS 10 (and earlier), apps could choose to request location tracking "Only While Using" or to request it "Always". Uber switched from the former to the latter. And the article you're commenting on is all about how iOS 11 will add "Only While Using" back as an option for all apps, so you can set it that way even though Uber doesn't want you to.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by technofiend on Thursday June 08, 2017 @10:47AM (#14514541)
Appreciate the explanation.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by tinus_hn on Thursday June 08, 2017 @07:19AM (#14513329)
It is not allowed for apps to refuse to run without location permissions. If you do that the app will be rejected. So no, 'usually' apps do not do that. iOS is not Android.
Re:iOS 11 Location Privacy: "Only While Using" is now always... by technofiend on Thursday June 08, 2017 @10:47AM (#14514537)
Hmm, good point. Thanks for drawing the distinction.