brenton07
brenton07 on Hacker News
Ha, Author here - I believe I had originally typed "tolerable at best", but must have rephrased it at some point for some reason.
To me the whole thing felt like an awful extended episode of The Today Show. Watered down to make it just digestible enough you might put up with it.
Ha, I had the same response.
Yeah, there's no great answer here other than its an area that requires innovation. Apple is usually pretty good in this area, and I'd love to see them bring something to the table. My hope in writing the article was to spur enough debate and attention around the subject that it might foster that innovation conversation.
I think by digging through the comments on the multiple portals this was posted since I went to bed last night that at the least, people have strong opinions on both sides. It's either security or convenience, but it's certainly presented on the surface that its both. The point of the article was it is not.
Wonder if it got bumped on accident on a recent update. My system has been modified to allow system access, so its less surprising (although still a flaw). But we did it on machines by people that are probably TOTALLY unaware of those 10.11 changes and wouldn't have the know how to modify something like that, and it still worked on their machines.
I was actually the author of this article, and am about to update it to address some of the criticisms. We have two machines locked down to only certain functions, down to only certain IP addresses even being allowed to communicate with the machines, and still managed to execute this - it did prompt Allow/Deny windows, but I find that intellectually different than a lack of password prompt.
I have dug through security preferences extensively and can't see what setting could be changed or updated to disallow this function.
I've updated the article to address and respond to some of the criticisms and feedback.
We tested this on four machines and had no prompts for password authentication. Two of them are VERY close to clean installs with only Adobe CC and two or three other production software components installed, highest security settings for everything in preferences.
We haven't been able to figure out why some users are prompted and others are not.
Posted by
brenton07 on Thursday July 07, 2016 @06:51PM
from the medium.com dept.