To be fair, I have accidentally clicked on the "oh yeah, confirm this email address" when I suddenly realize "no, wait, I created that account with my other email address... what the heck is this?"
More of a problem with common big-name services like Facebook and Apple ID and whatnot.
Web developers: Please make sure to include a "Didn't sign up for this? Click here to disable/unsubscribe" option in sign up emails, rather than assuming that the person receiving the email is the correct person who knows the password.