Re:Predicting Google Product Shutdowns
by DigitalTurk on Sunday May 05, 2013 @05:52AM
(#5657964)
I disagree.
Allowing more people to see a post is already possible by adding people to the circles that you shared the post with.
Are you sure you have thought this through? Allowing retro-active changes to visibility (unless it's only in a more restrictive direction) can be a privacy violation for the commenters, who may have commented based on the original visibility list. And allowing visibility changes towards a more restrictive set will confuse the people who could see the post till yesterday, might even have commented on it, and suddenly can't see it anymore.
Privacy decisions are not as simple as they might appear on a cursory glance, and overall I find that G+ takes privacy very seriously. Seen from the above light, the current policy of not allowing visibility changes, but allowing the author to delete the post, makes a lot more sense.