Re:Google Reader shutting down
by jap on Thursday March 14, 2013 @03:31AM
(#5373606)
Could be an oversight. I think "manage my contacts" is a default permission requested when not explicitely setting the scope in OAuth...
[ Parent
| on HN ]
This is not an oversight, it's even mentioned in their privacy policy [0], although I also stopped at that point. Whenever I see a service requesting permission to even have a look at my contact list, I really wish there were a button like "No, I really don't need this social stuff because I know noone in my contact list uses your service anyway and if someone does, I really don't care".
Thanks. That rules out the Old Reader for me. I think they should make it optional: only ask for this permission if I try to use the social functionality.