But in Mail, the Trash button makes you confirm the deletion. You'd have to accidentally press the 'Trash' button, and then accidentally press the 'Delete Message' button too (which is bright red and a whole inch away from the Home button).
Not necessarily. There's a setting which makes the Trash button delete without asking confirmation. Not sure if it's on by default.
Thank you. I have "Ask Before Deleting" turned off. I am also unsure what the default setting is. Nonetheless, Apple should not put delete buttons near the most-used button. Especially on a touchscreen with zero mechanical feedback.
Also in Mail, the 'Trash' button is at the bottom directly over the Home button. Sometimes I try to push the Home button and slightly miss, deleting the message I was reading. In the worst cases, I'll hit 'Trash' and then the Home button, not even realizing that I have deleted a message. I wish I could just disable the 'Trash' button as I use Gmail and don't need it.