Yes. I just looked in the admin settings for Google Apps and it gives the option to default it to restricted posts.
I should have been more specific, sorry:
Is this a per company default setting? Can company admins set the defaults for all company users? Or is it an individual user setting?
It's an admin setting, the default for all users.
Otherwise the risk for accidental spillover just seems too high...