Re:NASA mistakenly severs communication to Voyager 2
by Mr_Modulo on Monday July 31, 2023 @05:54PM
(#36949411)
Yes, the Safe Mode button. But you have to remember to press it before you start configuring the router and then exit Safe Mode when you're done.
Re:NASA mistakenly severs communication to Voyager 2
by tremon on Monday July 31, 2023 @06:55PM
(#36949983)
it’s probably copied from some Serious Business network OS
I wouldn't know who came first, but it's a feature of JunOS (Juniper) as well: every config apply first applies the config, then waits for confirmation on the terminal where it was ran. If confirmation isn't given within X seconds, it reverts the config change.
Re:NASA mistakenly severs communication to Voyager 2
by tortue0 on Monday July 31, 2023 @07:42PM
(#36950435)
That only applies when you do "commit confirmed".
Re:NASA mistakenly severs communication to Voyager 2
by housemusicfan on Monday July 31, 2023 @09:02PM
(#36951030)
> Like a lot of Microtik features, it’s probably copied from some Serious Business network OS, but I wouldn’t know.
Not sure who came first, but OpenWRT does this if you make a breaking change in the webinterface, and connectivity is lost for 60 sec, it will rollback the changes.
More seriously, Mikrotik routers have a nice feature where they will rollback your config change if the connection you’re configuring one over stops responding to keepalives. Like a lot of Microtik features, it’s probably copied from some Serious Business network OS, but I wouldn’t know.