Re:G+ for Android I’m very angry with you
by Shank on Thursday March 08, 2012 @12:22AM
(#3678696)
I'm not really sure I understand this. Was there some kind of bad translation? Instant Upload explains what it is and asks if you want to upload photos to the internet to a private album where you can then selectively share them without uploading.
Re:G+ for Android I’m very angry with you
by drivebyacct2 on Thursday March 08, 2012 @12:25AM
(#3678699)
1. Though it is preselected, you can not use the app without explicitly clicking in a screen that tells you what it is and how to turn it off.
2. It does not scan your sdcard/storage.
3. It uploads to a private album. Sharing with Anyone is a manual process.
Appears this might be a language barrier thing. I assume the text is expressed in the user's native language? Maybe it's an issue to take up with the carrier in terms of charges.
Re:G+ for Android I’m very angry with you
by smeg on Thursday March 08, 2012 @12:17AM
(#3678685)
"The WORST thing is that: G+ app searched all my mobile and ext-sdcard, got all my personal photos stored in mobile, and uploaded them onto the Internet without my permission."
If true, that is pretty disgusting. Especially if it made them publicly viewable, or even just by friends. This kind of thing has to be opt-in.
It has a picture of a photo, it has the word upload several times, it tells you it goes to a private album, it tells you it will cost money and it does not do the uploading unless you open the app and press continue (just installing is not enough)
Re:G+ for Android I’m very angry with you
by mdwrigh2 on Thursday March 08, 2012 @12:29AM
(#3678705)
It isn't true. Literally the first dialog you get when starting the G+ app for the first time asks you if you want to sync current and future images to G+. I believe it's the dialog from the article that said "1. Wifi 2. Wifi+3G 3. Never", which he mentions hitting Wifi+3G without reading what it says.
Also, it uploads all of the things it does sync to a private folder. No one but you can see them until you share them.
2. It does not scan your sdcard/storage.
3. It uploads to a private album. Sharing with Anyone is a manual process.
Appears this might be a language barrier thing. I assume the text is expressed in the user's native language? Maybe it's an issue to take up with the carrier in terms of charges.
If true, that is pretty disgusting. Especially if it made them publicly viewable, or even just by friends. This kind of thing has to be opt-in.
It has a picture of a photo, it has the word upload several times, it tells you it goes to a private album, it tells you it will cost money and it does not do the uploading unless you open the app and press continue (just installing is not enough)
Also, it uploads all of the things it does sync to a private folder. No one but you can see them until you share them.