In addition, if login succeeds, an authentication warning that a new device has connected is sent to every other device, and contrary to other Telegram chat messages cannot be deleted from another device, even previously authenticated ones. The message does not show up on the new device anyway, and it has to be deleted manually, once per other device. So an attacker that would gain access cannot hide its tracks unless it has access to all Telegram-known devices simultaneously.
That's not true. The option is there. (Edit: at least for now, some changes in that area are upcoming)
> In that case there is no option to fall back to SMS when authenticating.
The attack usually happens at night. By the time you wake up, all your chat histories are already downloaded and the secret police is on its way.
I tried it before I wrote the comment to be 100% sure, the option was not there, and it still is not.
I am not sure why it is the case but I am quite sure it was the case way before as I was making sure of this back then.
This will be changed on Saturday.
Got the following message about API changes last week: https://telegra.ph/Telegram-API-Changes-02-16