News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Google requiring all ‘G Suite legacy free edition’ users ... by angus-prune on Wednesday January 19, 2022 @05:37PM (#30001416)
I've posted this comment a few times in these threads. I'm in a same boat and did some digging with support and through the docs.

When you cancel workspace, the accounts remain active but lose access to just the workspace features (gmail, drive, docs, calendar etc). The accounts will remain the same for things like google play, youtube etc and you won't lose access to any purchases.

The biggest impact I can see, other than the headache of migration, is that former GFYD email address can NEVER be used for docs, drive etc, even on the same terms as a free personal account.

Re:Google requiring all ‘G Suite legacy free edition’ users ... by mikevo on Thursday January 20, 2022 @12:58PM (#30012277)
Looks like you can add "Cloud Identity Free" to keep using Drive and Documents. They give each user 15GB free.

https://support.google.com/cloudidentity/answer/7319251?hl=e...

For a new domain I had to signup to Cloud Identity Premium then cancel. For an existing domain on Google Apps, just remove Workspace and add Cloud Identity Free.

Re:Google requiring all ‘G Suite legacy free edition’ users ... by Znuff on Thursday January 20, 2022 @12:47PM (#30012134)
For a highly techy audience, you'd think people could have figured that out, but I guess outrage is better.

You don't have to lose access to anything except the core products - gmail, drive, docs, calendar. You still get to log on with your Google Account to access your purchases.

Re:Google requiring all ‘G Suite legacy free edition’ users ... by deadgiveaway on Wednesday January 19, 2022 @06:56PM (#30002268)
This is about people using G Suite legacy, not Workspace. You can't cancel Workspace if you don't have it.
Re:Google requiring all ‘G Suite legacy free edition’ users ... by Znuff on Thursday January 20, 2022 @12:45PM (#30012113)
The point is you will have it.

G-Suite Legacy gets converted to Workspace.

Once you stop paying for Workspace, you lose functionality (GMail, Drive etc.).

Nothing stops you from *still* using that account for purchases and moving your e-mail somewhere else.