Re:Facebook whistleblower says she wants to fix company, not...
by jb1991 on Monday October 04, 2021 @10:06AM
(#28746875)
You say “deactivate“ but Facebook does differentiate between deactivation and actual closing of an account. So if you merely deactivated it, then that would explain why your account was not actually deleted and it reactivated it for you.
> The biggest difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is that deactivating your Facebook account gives you the flexibility to return whenever you wish, while deleting your account is a permanent action.
From what I remember, reactivation of a deactivated account merely requires logging back in. Which sounds like you did exactly that.
Re:Facebook whistleblower says she wants to fix company, not...
by worldsayshi on Friday October 08, 2021 @06:20PM
(#28804804)
I wonder if deactivating, deleting etc means different things depending on local laws. Like I would expect them to have to allow full deletion in EU?
Also they send me click-baity emails like "John Doe has posted a status update!"
Heck, they've even started TEXTING me to lure me back.
I'm dreading having to log back in to try to figure out how to get them to stop trying to contact me.