> my guess is that it’s related to some kind of “before we update let’s update the updater” bootstrapping logic.
However, it happens (happened) specifically, if network access has been denied and there couldn't have been an upadate possibly received.
Copying itself is odd and probably suboptimal behavior, but it is explainable without assuming malice: my guess is that it’s related to some kind of “before we update let’s update the updater” bootstrapping logic. I could be wrong, but IIRC the updater code is open source, so it should be easy to find out.
[Edit: Oops, it's actually not open source. Their Windows updater (Omaha) is open source, but their Mac one (Keystone) is not. Of course, one can still open the binaries in a decompiler.]
Regardless, moving a program around on disk, or even deleting the program while it’s running (which is possible on macOS), would not prevent it from showing up in Activity Monitor.
[1] http://www.reecefowell.com/2012/11/16/ksfetch-annoyance-on-m...