Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by fletchowns on Thursday December 03, 2020 @06:38PM
(#25296994)
Hmmm is my G Suite account different from a Workspace account? I got this email a few weeks ago saying I hadn't logged in for awhile and they were going to delete my data: https://i.imgur.com/XAEXQWb.png
[ Parent
| on HN ]
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by alisonkisk on Thursday December 03, 2020 @07:23PM
(#25297434)
This subthread is confused. Google will delete long idle nin-domain users and idle domains, but will not delete long idle users within an active domain.
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by fletchowns on Thursday December 03, 2020 @07:38PM
(#25297540)
Ah! That makes sense
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by Jarwain on Thursday December 03, 2020 @07:04PM
(#25297267)
It's the same product; G Suite was just rebranded to Workspace
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by dannyw on Thursday December 03, 2020 @06:59PM
(#25297222)
Are you a paying customer?
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by fletchowns on Thursday December 03, 2020 @07:08PM
(#25297296)
No, this is a free account from way back when (2010 maybe?)
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by ValentineC on Thursday December 03, 2020 @09:10PM
(#25298123)
Google deletes legacy Google Apps domains if none of the accounts at that domain are logged into for a year or something.
I've received multiple warnings for some of my unused domains.
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by scrollaway on Thursday December 03, 2020 @09:26PM
(#25298227)
This I believe only applies to the root/admin account of the GSuite domain. Extra users created in the account are just extra user slots for that account.
Re:An update to storage policies across your Google Account
by ValentineC on Thursday December 03, 2020 @09:41PM
(#25298314)
I usually don't use the admin account as my main working account, for security.
I believe the Google Apps "target for deletion" process only gets triggered if none of the accounts in a domain are logged into for a period of time.