Re:Privnote - send notes that will self-destruct after being...
by tstegart on Thursday July 03, 2008 @09:47AM
(#235162)
haha, this is great. Not that I'm doing to move my super-secret chocolate smuggling ring over to it or anything, but you know, when I need to send my ATM pin or something to someone it should be ok.
Re:Privnote - send notes that will self-destruct after being...
by ComputerGuru on Thursday July 03, 2008 @12:30PM
(#235314)
PGP Desktop has the only true "this message will self-destruct" feature, as far as I've seen.
PGP encrypted messages. Opened in a secure viewer. No copy and paste. No easy screenshotting (dx10 overlay if I'm not mistaken - bypassable, of course, but decent anyway). Close it and it's gone.
Re:Privnote - send notes that will self-destruct after being...
by willarson on Thursday July 03, 2008 @05:18AM
(#235040)
I'd pretty much guarantee that its real purpose is to serve as a simple but pleasant portfolio piece for a designer or developer, and that purpose isn't defeated by it being copyable.
But, I think the point of the service is that only one person can read it not that it can only be read once. They could prevent easy copying by using Flash, etc, but it that would be cruel, unusual (well, it should be usual), and wouldn't improve their offering.
Re:Privnote - send notes that will self-destruct after being...
by willarson on Thursday July 03, 2008 @09:15AM
(#235139)
I think the key in my statement was easy copying. The inability to copy and paste clearly frustrates people, seeing as its the number one complaint against Scribd. But thanks for the sarcasm. ;)
Re:Privnote - send notes that will self-destruct after being...
by stcredzero on Thursday July 03, 2008 @09:18AM
(#235142)
I am not disappointed after having seen the website. I expected a fail in the security department. You can't really "self destruct" a message on the medium of a computer unless you have what amounts to some form of DRM.
PGP encrypted messages. Opened in a secure viewer. No copy and paste. No easy screenshotting (dx10 overlay if I'm not mistaken - bypassable, of course, but decent anyway). Close it and it's gone.
"This note has been destroyed so, if you want to keep it's content, you must copy it before closing this page"
Kinda defeats the purpose.
But, I think the point of the service is that only one person can read it not that it can only be read once. They could prevent easy copying by using Flash, etc, but it that would be cruel, unusual (well, it should be usual), and wouldn't improve their offering.
Especially seeing as these comments are made on HN - a decidedly money-making-free site itself.