I haven't received the apology e-mail either. The only action I took though was to rummage around the profile preferences to find the setting to turn off public profiles.
I wonder if they're sending the e-mails out in waves or if they're only sending them to users who still have the feature enabled?
I asked them to delete my account a couple years ago as well and they never did then either.
I will never, ever trust this company or use their product. There are other options out there just as good and not sketchy.
PS I like how the email went out on a Friday night too, even more sketch to try and limit # of people who opt out.