News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Trello handed over my personal account to my previous com... by shashanktomar on Tuesday April 14, 2020 @10:40PM (#22873913)
I am the user in this case. When I linked the accounts almost 6-7 years ago, Trello was not part of Atlassian and there was no SSO in place. At some point, they introduced it, but still, the regular way of login was working. There was no notification from there side that it will stop working abruptly. The company email address in this case what @comany.com and the personal one was @gmail.com. This is how they handed over all the accounts ending with @company.com to my previous company.
Re:Trello handed over my personal account to my previous com... by pdonis on Wednesday April 15, 2020 @12:41AM (#22874583)
> When I linked the accounts almost 6-7 years ago

When you did this, was the Trello account used for just your work with that employer? Or for both work and your personal stuff? Or just your personal stuff?

[Edit: I see from your response elsewhere in this discussion that it's the second of the options above. I'll respond further in that subthread.]

Re:Trello handed over my personal account to my previous com... by dvhh on Tuesday April 14, 2020 @11:10PM (#22874102)
I understood you were the user, and that what Atlassian was way too cold and lazy on their part.

but again, to play devil's advocate, Gmail do offer professional account part of the G Suite. Without knowing your work history, it would be difficult to know if the Gmail address is also not a "professional one".

On another hand do you think notification would have solved the issue ? And wouldn't a more malicious employee just delete all the boards if they did not part with their previous company on good term.

Obviously I don't know everything from the story. And my assertions are very far from the truth. I am trying to understand what would motivate such a decision (beside the obvious Atlassian is a heartless money-grabbing company that rot everything it touches)

Re:Trello handed over my personal account to my previous com... by shashanktomar on Tuesday April 14, 2020 @11:35PM (#22874240)
The ownership of the board is by account. In this case, all the company accounts were anyways invisible to me as my login email was personal gmail account and I only had the permissions to delete board owned under my account.