When the changes are unexpected, yes, further explicit authorisation is required. Just because you installed a photo-album app doesn't let the distributor delete all your photos, say.
Besides that, this sort of "but we hid something in the t&c-s so now we can shit on you" is the sort of thing I expect from over commercialised companies, not from what was once a paragon of the FOSS community.
FWIW class-actions don't exist in UK.
I look forward to joining your class-action lawsuit.