Re:Why I’m done with Chrome
by joshuamorton on Sunday September 23, 2018 @05:00PM
(#18053170)
Sync and log in are two unrelated settings. They were never related (except that you had to be logged in to be able to sync).
You could always be logged in and not sync. You just had previously chosen to be logged in and synced.
By disabling syncing, you turned off a feature that you previously had to have opted in to.
No, previously if you logged in sync was enabled - TFA and googles own privacy policy explain this quite clearly.
Re:Why I’m done with Chrome
by joshuamorton on Sunday September 23, 2018 @05:41PM
(#18053407)
I'm pretty sure you could still turn it off while remaining logged in.
You could uncheck the boxes, but by default they were all checked and everything started syncing the moment you signed in.
I remember because it bothered me to have to wipe my passwords from some random pc I was using just because I wanted my bookmarks.
Nope, clicking "Turn Off" under sync says:
> This will sign you out of your Google accounts.
And sure enough, it signs you out of gmail and the browser. So it's sign in to the browser, or no gmail for you.
Sync and log in are two unrelated settings. They were never related
I know what I saw. I was logged in, then I wasn't after I turned off Sync. They may not be related technically, but in the UI they are part and parcel.
Re:Why I’m done with Chrome
by joshuamorton on Monday September 24, 2018 @04:41PM
(#18061217)
Interesting, that's not what I recall, but apparently that's how it was.
Thanks for correcting me!
But if these things are unrelated, I guess we'll just have to chalk that up to Google's famously shitty product management and design skills.