News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Google in, Google out by TeMPOraL on Monday May 22, 2017 @03:27PM (#14396249)
So the question now is, if you opt in and later delete your data, does the data actually get deleted, or just disconnected from your account and left only with "anonymous identifiers"?
Re:Google in, Google out by ocdtrekkie on Monday May 22, 2017 @03:42PM (#14396355)
That is the big question.

I actually had this argument out with a former Googler who expressed with incredible strength how importantly Google addressed deletion of data users said to delete. And so his argument was that if you deleted it from your history, it'd be deleted, but if you turned off your history, you'd have no way of telling them to delete it.