It may be on magnetic tape backup in archives. Do they have to dig out each roll of tape each time for each customer who wants to erase a segment of their data?
It may be indexed or used as input to shape a larger or disconnected part of the software. It shows up in logs, and therefore in archived statistics analysis. It may have been copied and modified incrementally by a dozen other users. Should all these developments from user data be destroyed because they are based on old data with a delete request?
Perhaps an opt-in to a feature that doesn't back up or analyze your data for an hour could help prevent "committed the password to version control" accidents. But it would need to be opt-in, because the whole point of Kite is that your code is indexed in real time, right?
* Let us delete all of the data we have stored on your servers, whenever we want. * Let us see all of the data we have stored on your servers, whenever we want. I really don't care how you're manipulating it, but would like to see (and additionally delete) any information you have stored on me that I'm uncomfortable with.