News for hackers. Stuff that matters.
Re:Windows patch KB 3139929: When a security update is not a... by scholia on Sunday March 13, 2016 @01:42PM (#11278540)
Which is odd, because it doesn't install without permission.

Even if you can't see how to avoid installing it (ie you can't read or miss the small type that says "Click here to change upgrade schedule or cancel scheduled upgrade") then you can simply decline the EULA.

However, the level of technical expertise on reddit is noticeably lower than reddit users think, so it may be a much more common problem: PEBCAK ;-)

Re:Windows patch KB 3139929: When a security update is not a... by Laforet on Sunday March 13, 2016 @07:50PM (#11280044)
It appears that this patch was bumped from recommended to important and ended up getting automatically installed. Even SME networks running WSUS were affected if they are configured to allow important patches by default.
Re:Windows patch KB 3139929: When a security update is not a... by scholia on Sunday March 13, 2016 @08:44PM (#11280245)
Got four auto-updated PCs here at home that qualify for the upgrade and it hasn't happened to any of them.

And given Microsoft's reliance on people accepting its EULA, I'm pretty sure it would not deliberately bypass that....

Otherwise, Microsoft stated that it wouldn't upgrade PCs updated via WSUS, so I'd be interested to see concrete evidence, because that would clearly be a mistake. Not to mention wrong.

Re:Windows patch KB 3139929: When a security update is not a... by Laforet on Sunday March 13, 2016 @10:49PM (#11280773)
Folks over in /r/sysadmin has been complaining for about a week. My understanding if that the upgrade will actually go through unless GPO explicitly prevents the upgrade[0]. And the EULA dialogue will only appear AFTER the installation is complete[1].

[0]: https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/49nyhl/get_window...

[1]: https://np.reddit.com/r/technology/comments/4a0asv/warning_w...

Re:Windows patch KB 3139929: When a security update is not a... by scholia on Monday March 14, 2016 @08:52AM (#11282538)
> the EULA dialogue will only appear AFTER the installation is complete

This is true, and it's a waste of time, and it creates unnecessary risk. However, if you decline the EULA, it does roll back to your old OS. I've done this several times and it has worked perfectly so far.

It absolutely shouldn't be happening, but real sysadmins have the means to stop it from happening.