Re:Netflix socks detect when you've dozed off and pause your...
by biot on Thursday December 17, 2015 @06:13AM
(#10750782)
Yes, that would be a possible evolution of permissions. If an app lets you choose a picture from your photo library, iOS swaps you to your camera roll where you select the image and then click "Share this image with app". You then get redirected back to the app and iOS sends the app only that image.
Currently, for things like camera, microphone, location, etc. you can always revoke that permission after granting it via Settings.
I'd personally prefer more fine grained permissions. Permission to take a picture (and read just those pictures the app took), permission to save pictures to the OS picture db. Permission to read pictures from the os picture DB the app didn't take.
I actually don't know if that would be any kind of solution. Another would be if the only way to access pictures was an OS level ui. That way the app couldn't access the pictures directly.
at the same time that would limit useful things apps can do. For example the fb messenger app showing half the display as a live feed from the camera.