Re:Telegram stalking
by kobayashi on Friday November 27, 2015 @08:30PM
(#10639643)
For those wondering, head into Setting > Privacy and Security > Last Seen to change the setting. Available options are Everybody, My Contacts, and Nobody. Manual overrides for specific contacts can be toggled with the Always Share With setting.
[ Parent
| on HN ]
It doesn't stop to show you as "online" when the app is in the foreground.
Re:Telegram stalking
by TelegramApp on Monday November 30, 2015 @07:01PM
(#10652804)
Yes, it DOES stop showing you as online. If you are not sharing your last seeen/online status with somebody, he will NOT see you online, regardless of the app they are using.
There is one exception to this: people will see you online for a brief period of time right after you send THEM a message (otherwise it would feel like talking to a wall).
See: https://telegram.org/faq#q-can-i-hide-my-last-seen-time And: https://telegram.org/faq#q-who-can-see-me-online
Good to know
What is the default (because the majority of users will leave it set to that)?