But the context of me switching to the "running" feature and then I'm asked if I want to allow the GPS function is enough for me to not feel watched. It's all about context.
Same if the app asked for permission to see your photos (forever) when you use the custom cover art feature.
For a malicious app this makes no difference, but for those apps we (sort of) trust, the context makes all the difference.
Permission would be necessary to actually query for media programmatically, which is the real issue. Currently, they are conflated.
For location, I suppose that the "Google Maps is using your location" bar at the top could be expanded and always present when the location permission is enabled. Tapping it would revoke the permission until it is enabled again. This could get annoying though, some apps legitimately do depend on location all the time.